Now Reading
2015 James Beard Who’s Who Inductees
The James Beard Foundation’s Who’s Who of Food and Beverage in America, is an esteemed group of the most accomplished food and beverage professionals in the country. The unique approach of the James Beard Award is that each inductee has been identified, not by an authoritative committee, but rather by his or her own peers in the their perspective industry. From chefs to journalists to farmers to business executives to scholars, each inductee has been noted as displaying remarkable talent.
“This year’s Who’s Who honorees join an impressive group of over 250 of our country’s most respected food industry leaders,”said Susan Ungaro, president of the James Beard Foundation. “Their impact on cultural cuisine, food production and mixology is both substantial and exciting.”

The ‘Who’s Who’ of 2015 James Beard Winners include:

Allan Benton, the owner of Benton’s Smoky Mountain Country Hams, who was described by Saveur magazine as “one of the most respected producers in the U.S”, has set the standard in the industry since purchasing his ham business in 1973. His products are highly sought after by top chefs.

Dale DeGroff, a.k.a. ‘King Cocktail’ who pioneered a gourmet approach to recreating cocktails at the Rainbow Room in the 1980’s. Winner of the 2009 James Beard Award for Outstanding Wines and Spirits is also the author of The Essential Cocktail and The Craft of the Cocktail. 

Wylie Dufresne, Chef and Restaurateur, celebrated chef, restaurateur (Alder) and a pioneer of molecular gastronomy, who opened  the late Michelin Starred wd~50 in 2003, tralblazed the culinary world with his creative, eclectic, hyper-modern cooking.

Nathalie Dupree, author of 14 cookbooks and host to more than 300 national and international cooking shows, including the Food Network, is known for her deep understanding and approachability to Southern cuisine. Dupree is also the Founder of the International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) and also been awarded the Woman iof the Year by the Maître Cuisiniers de France. Finally, the nation’s per-eminent experts on the cuisines of Latin America,

Maricel Presilla. In 2013 she won the Cookbook of the Year by the James Beard Foundation and Best General Cookbook by the IACP with her “Gran Cocina Latina: The Food of Latin America.” Presilla is the chef and co-owner of restaurants Zafra and Cucharamama, Hoboken, New Jersey.






What's your reaction?
Loved It
Been There
About The Author
Wine Geo

Leave a Response